International organisations


The OSCE is one of the largest regional political organizations dealing with the security issues. As of today it encompasses 57 participating states from Europe, Central Asia and North America.

OSCE approaches to security are multidimensional and comprehensive, entailing specific “basket” of issues ranging from the politico-military and economic-environmental aspects to the human dimensions. From the OSCE perspective they are closely interrelated and intertwined and each of the baskets is crucial for maintaining comprehensive and indivisible peace and security in the OSCE area. Early warning, conflict prevention, crisis management and post-conflict rehabilitation are among the priorities of the Organization. Decisions of the OSCE have politically binding character and are adopted by the rule of consensus.

The OSCE decision-making bodies are:

  • Summit
  • Ministerial Council
  • Permanent Council
  • Forum for Security Co-operation

The OSCE Chairmanship-in-Office (CiO) is set for one year period to lead, coordinate and execute all other duties necessary for the management of the Organization. Current OSCE CiO is Serbia. It is supported by the former and next Chairmanships, which together with the chairing country form an OSCE Troika – currently Switzerland, Serbia and Germany. The OSCE Secretariat provides operational support to the Organization; it assists the CiO and the participating States in their activities. The Secretariat is headed by the Secretary General and located in Vienna.

The OSCE institutions are.

  • Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (ODIHR)
  • High Commissioner on National Minorities
  • Representative on Freedom of the Media

The Parliamentary Assembly of the OSCE is the platform of inter-parliamentary relations and cooperation.

The OSCE has established a web of field missions with the aim of organizing its activities more efficiently and better coordinating with the participating States, as well as for raising awareness on the goals and principles of the Organization.

The negotiation process on the settlement of Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is mediated by the OSCE Minsk Group Co-Chairs (Russia, USA, France).

The other members of the Minsk Group are the following participating States: Belarus, Germany, Italy, Sweden, Finland and Turkey as well as Armenia and Azerbaijan and, on a rotating basis, the OSCE Troika.

The High Level Planning Group was established within the framework of the OSCE with a mandate issued on March 1995 aimed at preparation of a future peacekeeping operation in the area of Nagorno-Karabakh conflict.

In 1995, the OSCE Chairman-in-Office appointed a Personal Representative of the CiO on the Conflict Dealt with by the OSCE Minsk Conference . Ambassador Andrzej Kasprzyk of Poland has been acting Personal Representative since July 1996.

Armenia - OSCE Cooperation

Armenia has acceded to the OSCE since January 30, 1992. The head of the Permanent Mission of the Republic of Armenia to the OSCE is Arman Kirakossian, the Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Republic of Armenia to the Republic of Austria.

The Delegation of the National Assembly of the RA represents Armenia in the Parliamentary Assembly of the OSCE. It consists of A. Geghamyan(Head of the Delegation, " Republican Party of Armenia"), S. Demirtchyan("Armenian National Congress", S.Margaryan("Prosperous Armenia" ), M. Dokholyan(substitute member , "Rule of Law") and A. Vardanyan substitute member, "Armenian Revolutionary Federation")

Main Documents:

  • Helsinki Final Act - 1975
  • Charter of Paris for New Europe - 1990
  • Budapest Summit Document - 1994
  • Charter for European Security - 1999
  • OSCE Strategy to Address Threats to Security and Stability in the Twenty-First Century - 2003
  • Astana Commemorative Declaration - 2010

Useful links:


Updated 09.02.2015

Share |