International organisations


Becoming a UN member and embracing principles of the universal values, human rights and democracy as an integral part of the state ideology, Armenia is actively involved in this global organization's activities and collaborates with many UN bodies and agencies since 1992.

Today Armenia is firm in increasing the productivity of its participation in the work of UN agencies. Based on the experience acquired in the past years, Armenia is ready to make its contribution to the global processes of democracy, protection and promotion of human rights, establishment of the rule of law.

Armenia has been elected to and had a contribution to the works of UN's most important bodies such as the UN Economic and Social Council, Commission on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice, Human Rights Council, Commission on the Status of Women, Committee for Programme and Coordination, Commission for Social Development, Commission on Population and Development, Commission on International Trade Law, Statistical Commission and others.

Without an active support by UN agencies it would be much more difficult for the government of Armenia to develop and implement national programs related to eradication of poverty, anticorruption, women's and children's rights, the fight against different forms of organized crime.

Adopting the Millennium Declaration in September, 2000, the UN member states committed their nations to achieve the implementation of the eight Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) by 2015. The goals are:

1. eradicating extreme poverty and hunger,
2. achieving universal primary education,
3. promoting gender equality and empowering women
4. reducing child mortality rates,
5. improving maternal health,
6. combating HIV/AIDS, malaria, and other diseases,
7. ensuring environmental sustainability,
8. developing a global partnership for development.

Joining the Declaration, Armenia, in fact, made a commitment to include the Millennium Development Goals in its national long-term and strategic plans and undertake clear strategic programs to direct economic growth to human development. With the support of international organizations Armenia developed a mechanism for “Poverty Reduction Strategy Paper” (PRSP). By the decree of the government of Armenia the PRSP process began in May, 2000. The 2008 Poverty Reduction Strategy involved the program period of 2003-2015. As a mater of fact, it was Armenia’s first long-term and strategic program for social-economic development since its independence. After 2006, however, there was a need to review PRSP main implementation results, strategy program, indicators and priorities. In 2008, the PRSP was amended and its title was changed to “Sustainable Development Program” (SDP). The SDP content and structure are somewhat different from the PRSP as it encompasses wider dimensions and represents the country's socio-economic development plan for 2008-2021.

Official website of United Nations:

Official website of UN Armenia Office:

Share |